newTACTics-LAUGH-Logo-1 (1)


Written by Beth Henley
Directed by David Schweizer

Featuring: Helen Cespedes*, Michael Cyril Creighton*, Jono Mainelli*, Kate Middleton*, Jacob Ming-Trent*, Dana Smith-Croll*+, & Evan Zes*

Wednesday June 10th at 7PM
Thursday June 11th at 7PM


Mabel, an unmannered ward who strikes pay-dirt in an unfortunate gold-mining accident, has been forced into an engagement with Roscoe, a sensitive butterfly-chaser and film buff, by their cruel caretaker Aunt Octobra. But inspired by the magic of the movies, they make their escape to the City of Angels to pursue stardom and success. Daring rescues are hatched, mischievous villains are thwarted, and several cream pies are thrown in this new American LAUGH riot.


BETH HENLEY (Playwright) was born in Jackson, Mississippi. Her plays have been produced internationally and translated into over ten languages. CRIMES OF THE HEART (The Golden Theatre) and THE WAKE OF JAMEY FOSTER (Eugene O’Neill Theatre) were performed on Broadway.  Off-Broadway productions include: THE MISS FIRECRACKER CONTEST, AM I BLUE, THE LUCKY SPOT, THE DEBUTANTE BALL, ABUNDANCE, IMPOSSIBLE MARRIAGE, and FAMILY WEEK. Her play RIDICULOUS FRAUD was produced at McCarter Theatre as well as South Coast Repertory Theatre.

Ms. Henley’s, THE JACKSONIAN premiered at the Geffen Theatre in January 2012 to great acclaim. Robert Falls directed and the cast included Ed Harris, Bill Pullman, Amy Madigan and Glenne Headly. It was performed Off-Broadway at the New Group. Studio Theatre produced the world premier of her newest play, LAUGH in 2015. Beth Henley was awarded the Pulitzer Prize in Drama and the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best American Play for CRIMES OF THE HEART. Other awards include: American Theatre Wing 1998 Award for Distinguished Achievement in Playwriting Susan Smith Blackburn Finalist for CRIMES OF THE HEART and RIDICULOUS FRAUD; Richard Wright Literary Excellence Award 2000; New York Stage and Film Honoree, 2007; ATHE Career Achievement Award, 2010.

Ms. Henley has the honor of serving as Theatre Arts Presidential Professor at LMU, Los Angeles. She is a member of The Fellowship of Southern Writers, the Dramatist Guild and the Academy of Arts and Science.